RSS Feed

Heat wave

Sticky.

Dewy hot air clinging to the skin

Much like an abusive parent before she knocks you down

Bowling over gasping the thick humidity

And choking when the heat sears your lungs.

Enwrapped in the wave stifling your soul

No safe respite wherever you go –

Inside, outside, she’s everywhere you want to escape.

There is no flight from her fiery clutches,

The ominous, scalding eye glaring from a cloudless sky

Spying your every move –

Inside, outside, she’s everywhere you want to escape.

What have we done to deserve this hell?

What must I do to change her mood?

To calm her heated reach swiping wide and slapping hard,

Slamming me violently to the tiled floor

Where it radiates her heat, singes the gossamer hairs,

Exposes my naked pink flesh moistened by shimmering beads –

Sweaty.

Where is the refuge for my racing, panting heart?

The god that scoops me into the air,

Lifts us from our hot, sticky prisons,

Dropping our flaming bodies into refreshing lakes –

Cool, cleansing waters –

Inside, outside, she’s everywhere you want to escape.

– Written by Anonymous on July 16, 2011

About 365 Things to Write About

I'm inspired by almost anything and everything creative - nature, architecture, art, words, music...I like to roam along streets, through foreign countries, and within my mind where the world is full of endless possibilities. I dream of being an idealist, but I've experienced too many harsh realities for that wish to ever be true. Therefore, I look for the hope and the good in small nuances, and I express my thoughts and feelings about the world around me on pages and canvases whenever I can.

Leave a Reply

