RSS Feed

Leprechaun

The little man in a green velvet suit nodded and smiled as he greeted me, “Top o’ the mornin’ to ye!’

And I couldn’t help myself – I stopped in my tracks and stared at the little man no bigger than my hand skipping merrily down the lane. I rubbed my eyes. Certainly it couldn’t be.

Oh, but it was. It was a leprechaun whistling and carrying on, singing “Top o’ the mornin’ to ye!” as he tipped his little green hat like a dandy and skipped down the lane where I stood, my jaw dropped to the dusty, gravel floor.

What was a leprechaun doing in these parts? I wondered aloud, scratching my head. Why would that little fella be skipping down that lane so happy?

My eyes wandered to the sky, scoping the clear blue ceiling for an answer to my questions. Surely God would know why a leprechaun was moving through these parts of the world. And then He showed me. The heavy clouds in the distance, pregnant with buckets of rain edging their way over a flat emerald field, looking all shiny and clean from the fresh morning dew. From one of those clouds, a long spectrum grew – painted some beautiful colors – deep pinks, bright orange and yellow, greens, and deep royal blues.

That’s a rainbow! I thought to myself. But no, not just one – there were two!

The rainbows! No wonder that leprechaun looked so merry. He was after two pots of gold! But surely he couldn’t claim both, and so I tore after him on my bare soles, running faster and faster to catch up with the dandy leprechaun in the little green suit and hat.

I spotted him ducking under the wooden fence and running toward the far edge of the field – where sure enough those double rainbows were leaning and stretching their arms to the earth. I’ve got to hurry, I thought in a panic. Here’s my one chance to be rich, and I’m about to lose it real quick. So I ran harder, pumping my legs as those rainbows kept reaching and reaching and that leprechaun was skipping and singing…and just as those bars of all the world’s colors neared the emerald earth where we play, I caught up to that little bugger!

Caught off guard, the leprechaun shrieked, and then his face grew a deep scowl.

“Who do ye think ye are coming after me rainbows?” he asked. “Are ye tryin’ to see me two pots o’ gold?”

“I figured two was too much for a wee man like yourself,” I replied. “And thought maybe you’d like to share?”

But at the moment I said it, I looked up and saw those double rainbows start to recede – as big, round raindrops plopped on my head and shoulders and the leprechaun shouted with greed, “Now ye gone and done it – ruined me chances of gettin’ the gold!”

So feeling bad, I lifted him on my shoulder and offered to buy him a pint – and off to the pub he rode.

– Written by Miss A on July 18, 2011

About 365 Things to Write About

I'm inspired by almost anything and everything creative - nature, architecture, art, words, music...I like to roam along streets, through foreign countries, and within my mind where the world is full of endless possibilities. I dream of being an idealist, but I've experienced too many harsh realities for that wish to ever be true. Therefore, I look for the hope and the good in small nuances, and I express my thoughts and feelings about the world around me on pages and canvases whenever I can.

Leave a Reply

