RSS Feed

Hermit crab

It creeped across my towel

Stepping lightly so it wouldn’t be found,

But alas I happened to notice

The wandering shell that made no sound.

Big, bulging eyes and long antennae

Swinging boldly from side to side,

They must have sensed my shadow

For the little bugger retreated swiftly to hide.

And there the shell laid perfectly still

Perched atop my soft cotton mat

While waves crashed down in the distance,

A pushy breeze blew the sandy beach flat.

I held my breath, spoke not a word,

Waiting patiently for bug eyes to reappear

Long, spindly legs timidly stretched forth

Hoisting up its front before lifting the rear.

Out popped the eyes scanning wildly around

Before so much as lifting a claw,

Then lumbering forward with its heavy home

Crept one of the funniest creatures I ever saw.

– Written by Miss A on July 31, 2011

About 365 Things to Write About

I'm inspired by almost anything and everything creative - nature, architecture, art, words, music...I like to roam along streets, through foreign countries, and within my mind where the world is full of endless possibilities. I dream of being an idealist, but I've experienced too many harsh realities for that wish to ever be true. Therefore, I look for the hope and the good in small nuances, and I express my thoughts and feelings about the world around me on pages and canvases whenever I can.

Leave a Reply

