RSS Feed

Lightning

Lightning, written by Miss A on August 23, 2011

 

They say lightning never strikes the same place twice, but obviously, they never met my cousin Bill. He got struck twice in the head two summers in a row under the same tree!

The way he tells the story, you’s say he was an unlucky fellow, but I say he’s lucky because he’s alive to tell the tale!

“All I was doin’ was takin’ a nap,” he’ll explain, stretching his hands behind his head as he leans back in his chair. “And all of a sudden, a wicked storm flew overhead – the darkest, angriest clouds you ever did see. So angry, I was frozen in fear – but just for a split second. Then I felt at home when the buckets of rain came pouring down like a cool shower after a hot day of workin’ in them fields. I had nowhere to be, so I sat under that tree and watched that sky scream and shout some devilish things. Stomping all loud as it threw its fit. And just when I thought it might be tirin’ out, all of a sudden, there was an electric streak flying from those black clouds toward my wet head. Imagine my shock wakin’ up in a hospital bed with a big ol’ white bandage wrapped around my noggin and them doctors tellin’ me I was struck by lightning! They reckon I must have a hard head, and I’m inclined to agree because don’t ya know the very next year, I was nappin’ under that same tree and another bolt of lightning knocked me dead for two seconds flat?”

“You reckon someone up above is tryin’ to tell ya somethin’?” I asked my cousin Bill.

“Nah,” Bill replied, shaking his head. “I reckon I just need to find me a different tree for taking naps under.”

-Written by Miss A on August 23, 2011 (she’s been on a drawing spree for the past week)

About 365 Things to Write About

I'm inspired by almost anything and everything creative - nature, architecture, art, words, music...I like to roam along streets, through foreign countries, and within my mind where the world is full of endless possibilities. I dream of being an idealist, but I've experienced too many harsh realities for that wish to ever be true. Therefore, I look for the hope and the good in small nuances, and I express my thoughts and feelings about the world around me on pages and canvases whenever I can.

Leave a Reply

