RSS Feed

Red

Red is passion. Anger. Love. And how all three are intertwined in a virulent circle of infinite feeling, emotion. Red forces me to stop. Pay attention. Fear. Tap my fingers on the steering wheel and wait. Red yells NO! Tells me I can’t go further than the borders it has pre-defined. Red holds me hostage, then seals my lips with a kiss. Pumps the blood through my veins and trickles down my skin when I knick my knee with the double-bladed razor. Red blossoms into a dozen petals, propped seductively atop a green, thorny stem. It is red that warms my heart…and ignites fire in my eyes. 

Red. A simple, three-letter word with enormous powers to move people, worlds, attention. Bring about change. Dominate. Demand loyalty. Red is regal, long, velvet trains lined with the softest white fur. Red is the carpet which famous people walk when they’re trying to sell their latest film, song, creative love. Red holds court, captures and enraptures. Flashes a hint of skin between translucent silk of the brightest crimson. 

Tell me where the red wine flows, pours freely from the plumpest grapes of Spain, France, Italy. Red courses through their rivers, the sweetest alcohol mixed with the patriot’s blood. Roars with joy and spirit. 

Red is defiant. Rebellious. Courageous. Willing to fight for the balance we all deserve in our lives. The balance of love, honor, respect, equality. Red motivates us to go on. Breathes life into the dullest moments and the coldest rooms…

– Written by Miss A on December 3, 2011

About 365 Things to Write About

I'm inspired by almost anything and everything creative - nature, architecture, art, words, music...I like to roam along streets, through foreign countries, and within my mind where the world is full of endless possibilities. I dream of being an idealist, but I've experienced too many harsh realities for that wish to ever be true. Therefore, I look for the hope and the good in small nuances, and I express my thoughts and feelings about the world around me on pages and canvases whenever I can.

Leave a Reply

