RSS Feed

a Pen

A pen travels across the page, swirling and looping, skipping and then stopping suddenly to exclaim, “Oh my! I believe I’ve forgotten what to write next!”

I freeze, surprised my common ink pen has spoken words, real words. Has the constant lack of sleep penetrated that far into my psyche that I now hear Mickey Mouse voices coming from my pen? At least they don’t sound like Donald Duck. I never liked him too much, anyway.

“Aw shucks! You’re not crazy!” the pen interrupts my thoughts to say. “I like to be creative, too, you know. Your writing is just as much mine as it is yours, but gosh darn it, I’ve drawn a blank – er, I mean, I haven’t drawn a thing, really, since I can’t think of what to ink next.”

He stares at the half-finished page of my (our?) notebook and sighs.

“Sometimes, it comes so easy…but other days, it feels like wet cement is being dumped in my head, and there’s simply no room for another thought or word.”

I nod sympathetically. Oh wow, am I commiserating with my pen? I might be nuttier than I previously thought!

“You’re not nutty!” the pen interjects. “Maybe tired and overwhelmed sometimes, but not insane, demented, stupid, or anything that is incapable of expressing a coherent thought. You’re obviously aware I’m having a conversation with you, which in itself proves you’re self-aware.”

Maybe too self-aware, if I can talk to pens, but that is a thought to resolve at another time. How can I help this pen get back on its feet and play across the crisp, white page like it used to do?

“Have you got any coffee?” the Mickey Mouse voice asks. “Sometimes that helps. Or maybe if you take me for a walk or run? I’m an excellent cleaner, too – scrubbing bathtubs might get my juices flowing again.”

Those all sound like distractions, if you ask me. I scratch my head for a moment and think about what works for me when the words have escaped my cluttered head and sought refuge in their impish games of hide-and-seek.

I’ve got it! I have an idea to jolt your brain, er, whatever helps you think and write. What if I simply move you across the page, this way and that? Perhaps I can help you along. We could draw a line together, or a circle, even a square! Or a star? Do you like stars?

And as I explain my idea, I lift the pen and rapidly cross him across the page, helping him ink long black lines and short curly-Qs, stars and flowers, pictures of words that are easy to draw.

Then suddenly the stem of a flower evolves into the root of a word, and before my eyes, I watch in wonder as my pen feels inspired to write again!

– Written by Miss A on December 13, 2011

About 365 Things to Write About

I'm inspired by almost anything and everything creative - nature, architecture, art, words, music...I like to roam along streets, through foreign countries, and within my mind where the world is full of endless possibilities. I dream of being an idealist, but I've experienced too many harsh realities for that wish to ever be true. Therefore, I look for the hope and the good in small nuances, and I express my thoughts and feelings about the world around me on pages and canvases whenever I can.

2 responses »

  1. Really nice… I love writing with fountain pens and it’s great how you were able to use your pen for inspiration. I have a bad habit of simply writing, “The quick brown fox jumps over the lazy dog,” when I’m stuck… that doesn’t help much. I simply like to write something.

    Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
    • Thanks for the support, Bill! I have to admit I wasn’t expecting this story to emerge when I chose the prompt, “a pen,” in my copy of the 365 Things this morning, but it was fun to see how it turned out at the end!

      – Miss A

      Reply

Leave a Reply

