RSS Feed

Heart

What is “heart?” Yes, I know about the pumping organ in my chest which keeps the rest of my body alive. I like to test it every other day when I sprint three miles across the neighborhood. Well, maybe not a sprint, but at 8 1/2 miles an hour, it’s faster than a jog!

So this “heart” that people sometimes talk about. To have “heart.” Have no fear, have heart. Have a heart? To consume? I don’t believe I’m see many real hearts for consumption, unless I count the thousands of plastic heart boxes and heart-shaped chocolates which flood the stores every Valentine’s Day. But I don’t want to have a chocolate heart. I want “heart,” whatever that is supposed to mean.

According to my novels and poems and books of short stories, soldiers, knights in shining armor, bold kings, and brave rebels have “heart.” Fear is vanquished from their souls and absolute courage flows passionately and with certainty through their veins. It is “heart” which keeps them alive and moving forward.

Courage and certainty. They begin with a “c,” much like cordis, from which heart is somehow derived. And how did h-e-a-r-t evolve from c-o-r-d-i-s? Don’t ask me – I wasn’t there when some certain soul decided that heart was a better word. I mean, “have cordis?” Who would have taken that phrase to heart – literally – and used it to seize the day. Carpe diem – with heart. Hmmm…seize the day…have heart. Perhaps these phrases are more similar than I had realized. But I didn’t actually realize – until now.

I must admit, I bow to courage and certainty on more occasions than not. My heart falters and I back away slowly from the unknown, that which bruise me in some way. I would not make a good soldier or knight or king. Perhaps I could be a rebel, as long as it remained in my mind. If I don’t feel I could be these bold men, does this mean I can’t have “heart?”

Perhaps not at war, but why not on the page? I’m sure there have been many writers who have “heart.” Writers who fling their pens across the paper with no doubts about their potent words which spring to life a world, a thought, an emotion that was trapped inside their heads for too long. I would feel much better having “heart” at my desk than on a ravaged battlefield where bombs might explode around me. Then again, bombs explode around one in everyday life, too. Job losses, sudden tragedies, angry, irrational people screaming words of hate. And to handle those, we must all have “heart.” The courage to move through difficult times, whether it’s struggling to ink the first sentence on a page or accepting a loss with dignity and bravery.

– Written by Miss A on February 15, 2012

About 365 Things to Write About

I'm inspired by almost anything and everything creative - nature, architecture, art, words, music...I like to roam along streets, through foreign countries, and within my mind where the world is full of endless possibilities. I dream of being an idealist, but I've experienced too many harsh realities for that wish to ever be true. Therefore, I look for the hope and the good in small nuances, and I express my thoughts and feelings about the world around me on pages and canvases whenever I can.

Leave a Reply

