RSS Feed

a Kiss

I think kissing is often underrated. Especially the first kiss between two people. It’s such a powerful event. I can remember most of my first kisses with incredible clarity. Especially my very first kiss. I think her name was Amy…yeah, haha…here I am talking about “incredible clarity” and I can’t even remember her name! Well, I remember that I met her that same night and my friend Matt introduced us. She was the type of girl that EVERY guy wanted. Carefree, fun attitude…friendly…tall but not too tall…beautiful, long, dark brown hair…cute laugh…well, ok, I don’t really remember her laugh, but I’ll assume it was cute because a bad laugh can be quite the turn off. She and Matt had been friends and Matt liked her, but they didn’t have any romantic history. Not that it would have been a deal breaker either way.

I was entranced from the moment we were introduced and if I had been able to pay an ounce of attention to anything else, I would have noticed that Matt was not happy that her attention was going more in my direction than in his. Not happy at all…but I wasn’t concerned with my friend’s feelings at that moment. I was 14 years old, walking through the July twilight on an old Hinsdale, Illinois sidewalk with this amazing girl that I just met. My friend could have been hit by a bus and I wouldn’t have noticed. The next hour or so is a blur. I know we walked into town…probably to get something to eat. Ice cream, maybe? Seems likely to me…sometime between then and the walk back, I remembered that my friend was there. Probably because on some primal level, I saw him as a threat. At some point on the walk back, she was a few steps ahead of us and we started talking about how nice her ass was… I made a finger frame (picture frame with your thumbs and index fingers) and was looking through it saying, “ooooh, look at that” and she caught me! I’m surprised that didn’t ruin my chances with her right there. I must have played things cool after that because a few minutes later she and I were talking and my friend Matt got ahead a few steps. It was dark outside and the street lamps cast a magical glow over the sidewalk. I wanted to kiss her and my heart was probably beating a million times a second as I tried to figure out the right moment and how to do it…and whether she would kiss me back or not. Something happened, like jumping off the high dive for the first time, and I just did it. I took a couple quick steps to get in front of her, and turned around to face her. She stopped and asked me what I was doing. I said to her, “I’ve been wanting to do this all night,” and leaned in toward her lips…and she leaned in toward mine…and it happened! With fireworks and marching bands, and crowds of people cheering, and streamers falling from the sky!

– Written by Mr. T on March 26, 2012

About 365 Things to Write About

I'm inspired by almost anything and everything creative - nature, architecture, art, words, music...I like to roam along streets, through foreign countries, and within my mind where the world is full of endless possibilities. I dream of being an idealist, but I've experienced too many harsh realities for that wish to ever be true. Therefore, I look for the hope and the good in small nuances, and I express my thoughts and feelings about the world around me on pages and canvases whenever I can.

Leave a Reply

