RSS Feed

Gargoyle

 

Gargoyle, written by Miss A on May 19, 2012

The sun is showering us with light uninterrupted by pesky or cumbersome clouds, and the mood of the city has lightened, as people stroll to work. Some chat on their phones, others grin and wave to familiar faces as they walk past, occasionally stopping to say hello to a friend or business partner decked in some fancy suit. As I breathe in the urban life, the metropolitan energy which glows on a warm, sunny morning, I start to appreciate this place where people surround themselves worth sky-high buildings and compete with bright yellow cars to get them to the next leg of their journey.

But then there is this guy.

I stop and peer at the angry face crouched atop the stairs of an old, marble structure – a library or legal firm, perhaps? Why must he look so angry, I wonder. I’ve seen his kind before – with stony faces warped in scowling expressions, with vicious, pointy teeth which look as though they might eat me whole. It’s obvious he is indifferent to a blustery, rainy afternoon or the rays of light which cast a fresh glow across the city on a spring morning.

I’ve heard he and his disgruntled friends were assigned to scare away the evil spirits that might try to break in and corrupt innocent souls. I glance at the signs beside the building’s door – Jackson and Morton Law Firm, Madison Hedge Fund, Tagel’s Brokerage Firm – and see these guards made no difference at all.

Well, Mr. Ugly Thing, I think to myself and hope he hears. I’m sorry you must serve such an unhappy fate, glowering at all the people who have a choice to lead happy lives. It must be a horrible eternity to spend crouched in stone and waiting to attack, with no relief from your position, no moment to sit back and crack a smile.

– Written by Miss A on May 19, 2012.

About 365 Things to Write About

I'm inspired by almost anything and everything creative - nature, architecture, art, words, music...I like to roam along streets, through foreign countries, and within my mind where the world is full of endless possibilities. I dream of being an idealist, but I've experienced too many harsh realities for that wish to ever be true. Therefore, I look for the hope and the good in small nuances, and I express my thoughts and feelings about the world around me on pages and canvases whenever I can.

Leave a Reply

