RSS Feed

Teapot

I’m a little teapot, short and stout!

Here is my handle, and here is my spout!

Anna and Gracie stood in the living room, each with one hand on her hip and the other bent at her side in the air, giggling at their mirrored images. Though dressed in identical blue dresses, Anna’s laugh was an octave higher, which is how Marissa could tell them apart from her post at the kitchen sink.

She envied the twins’ beaming faces. How much fun it must be to have a sister who looked just like you, Marissa wondered while peeling a long curl of skin from the lumpy potato in her hand. As an only child, she had been deprived the bonds of a sibling. When her family had learned she was pregnant with two, how they had all marveled, “Twins!” as if this were a complete anomaly to their family tree. In truth, most families in her lineage bore or raised only one child – why, she could not explain.

Must come from your husband’s side of the family, her grandmother had wheezed. No one has twins in our line.

Daniel didn’t care if his family had ever birthed twins before. He was just happy to have two adorable girls swinging open the front door and exclaiming, “Hi Daddy!” when he came home from work every night.

We have to relish these moments. They won’t last forever, he often joked. Before we know it, they’ll be teenagers who can’t stand the sight of us. At least there’s two of us against two of them – I think we can take them on? What do you think?

Marissa wasn’t ready to think that far ahead. For now, she enjoyed their little banters back and forth when the twins thought they were alone, just the two of them blanketed in their private world, speaking in tongues only they could understand. In those moments, Marissa would sometimes feel like an outsider in her children’s lives. They had each other for comfort and companionship. What did they need her for?

Mommy! Mommy! shouted Anna and Gracie as they ran into the kitchen.

What is it, my lovely girls?

Watch our routine! Ann squealed excitedly.

Marissa turned from the sink and faced her daughters. Smiling, she nodded and said, Okay, let’s see it.

Instead of turning toward each other, the twins positioned themselves across from her. Gracie glanced at Anna, who counted them off. One. Two. Three.

With bright, shining eyes, the girls enthusiastically sang and danced.

I’m a little teapot, short and stout!

Here is my handle, and here is my spout!

When I get all steamed up, hear me shout!

Tip me over, and pour me out!

– Written by Miss A on August 1, 2012

About 365 Things to Write About

I'm inspired by almost anything and everything creative - nature, architecture, art, words, music...I like to roam along streets, through foreign countries, and within my mind where the world is full of endless possibilities. I dream of being an idealist, but I've experienced too many harsh realities for that wish to ever be true. Therefore, I look for the hope and the good in small nuances, and I express my thoughts and feelings about the world around me on pages and canvases whenever I can.

Leave a Reply

