RSS Feed

Fork

Frost has covered the ground where I stand today

Staring into the woods, splashes of light boasting on shiny new leaves

And a cool breeze twirling through the air

Beckons me to step further down the trail

Tempting me with the roots of trees, the shade from outstretched limbs for me to hide

But I knew deeper within, the dark woods wait

With their twisted arms and fingers barren and dry

Shadows lurk into the bushes, robbed bare by the winter ice

As it lies on the ground like a sheet of glass

Setting up its trap for me to slip and fall.

So I linger at this point and look the other way

To sand dunes and stripped beaches, lured to the waves

Lapping at their feet, roaring for them to come and play

All that exists there is land and water

Adorned by the wandering shell who comes to shore for reflection and rest

There is no shelter from the sun’s fiery watch

My pale skin will surely singe and burn, exposed to its incessant glare

And the shape-shifting sands challenge the balance of one’s toes

When they drift with the air, are pulled by the water

A tumultuous ride with the appetite to devour me whole.

To which path should I step –

The one with certain shade, sturdy roots, limbs to hold

A frigid center numbing to the core

The other with space to trance my finger through the sand

An uncertain shift and change as the floor moves beneath

Sacrificed to the unwavering eye that hovers with its skeptical stare –

It is the nature between which I’m torn

Holding me hostage, contemplating the difference.

– Written on August 11, 2012

About 365 Things to Write About

I'm inspired by almost anything and everything creative - nature, architecture, art, words, music...I like to roam along streets, through foreign countries, and within my mind where the world is full of endless possibilities. I dream of being an idealist, but I've experienced too many harsh realities for that wish to ever be true. Therefore, I look for the hope and the good in small nuances, and I express my thoughts and feelings about the world around me on pages and canvases whenever I can.

Leave a Reply

