RSS Feed

Superhero

To my alter-ego, the reporter asked: Ms. Gray, if you could be a superhero, what special power would you have?

To which my alter-ego answered: Ms. Lawson, many others may tell you they’d like x-ray vision or the ability to fly, be invisible, fight crime. If I could be a superhero, I’d want the power to cure unhappiness and depression. With a simple touch on one’s arm or shoulder, or even a hug, I would erase the sufferer’s mental anguish and afflictions. I’d dash into hospitals, offices, and homes and reach for those ailed by sadness; their misery would be lifted, and they would see new reasons to live. I’d hold the stranger on the corner who contemplates ending her life, and she’d walk away with new convictions to breathe, love, and embrace happiness. I’d pull the man who stands in front of an oncoming train away from the tracks that will take him nowhere; he would hear his child’s laugh and see hope in their future. No longer would discontent and unending sadness drive anyone I encountered to drastic measures which tragically ends their lives and spreads the poison of their sadness and despair into the blood of those who loved them. My fingers would drive a current into their souls which illuminated all of those who love and cherish them in the present, so they could see they are more than the confines of their psyche. By relinquishing them of unhappiness, they would be free to experience and appreciate joy, to feel love and loved, and to look for hope in the obstacles which once chained them to the ground. By eradicating depression, many would be cured of the toxins which ail and cripple them. More people would treat each other with open kindness and feelings of goodwill. Less and less would be trapped in the darkest recesses of their minds. Suicide would disappear.

One who cures these things and eradicates them from mankind – that is the ultimate Super Hero, for what I would aspire.

 

– Written by Miss A on October 21, 2012. In memory of Carey W. Tolbert (1980-2012).

About 365 Things to Write About

I'm inspired by almost anything and everything creative - nature, architecture, art, words, music...I like to roam along streets, through foreign countries, and within my mind where the world is full of endless possibilities. I dream of being an idealist, but I've experienced too many harsh realities for that wish to ever be true. Therefore, I look for the hope and the good in small nuances, and I express my thoughts and feelings about the world around me on pages and canvases whenever I can.

Leave a Reply

