RSS Feed

Word Prompt: Yellow

“Be careful what you tell Yellow. She likes to blab it all around town. Talks too much, if you ask me. Doesn’t seem to understand some things are best kept to yourself.”

That’s what the receptionist warned me on the first day of work. I asked her if she had any advice, and now that I’ve been here for a year, I can see she’s right. Yellow knows everyone’s business and she’s not afraid to share it. I didn’t have to learn this lesson the hard way, but I’ve watched others suffer at the mercy of her wagging tongue.

I first met her by the copy machine. She extended her hand, batted those soft brown eyelashes, and eagerly asked me about myself. I could tell she fancied herself to be the innocent ingenue, and I might have fallen for her act, if our receptionist hadn’t said that look was all show. Behind the grin was a lethal claw groping for a chance to stab you in the back. So I said my “hello,” pulled my papers from the machine, and stepped away to avoid a conversation.

That isn’t to say I’ve avoided her all together. She likes to sit with my department at lunch and gossip about what she’s heard around the office – who’s been kissing whom, which bosses make their assistants cry, the deals that are being made behind closed doors. This girl’s going to get her comeuppance one day, but it’s a question of whether it’ll happen later or soon. I don’t offer my two cents. When she’s around, I keep my mouth shut and my ears open. Never know what tidbits rolling off her tongue will help me in my own careers, but I sure as hell am not going to let her use my words to damage how far I’ve come. I know what happens when you say too much and another person hangs you from a rung.

Yellow’s too young to know any better. I’d say she’s a little green behind the ears, but that would be awkward, her name being Yellow and all. Who names their kid Yellow anyhow?

The mother that wants her baby to be bright and shiny, the life of the party, the glowing sun. I hear Yellow on the phone with her during breaks. That girl gossips about her own family, too. No one gets a break between those two. Makes me think twice about my judgments against other people – the kind that cross your mind when you’re least aware of the assumptions you’re forming from a stranger’s frown, illegal turn, or angry stare. I guess if I had nothing interesting in my life, I’d harbor those thoughts and turn them into blurbs for entertaining other people, too. Like Yellow. It’s hard to be the life of a party no one will invite you to. That’s why she dwells on the lives of others and spills gossip on the ground where everyone can see.

Most things are better left unsaid and left alone. A respect for privacy and confidentiality will get you a lot farther in life, so when rumors and secrets hit my ears, they stop right there. But that’s to be expected from a person nicknamed “Red.”

– Written by Miss A

About 365 Things to Write About

I'm inspired by almost anything and everything creative - nature, architecture, art, words, music...I like to roam along streets, through foreign countries, and within my mind where the world is full of endless possibilities. I dream of being an idealist, but I've experienced too many harsh realities for that wish to ever be true. Therefore, I look for the hope and the good in small nuances, and I express my thoughts and feelings about the world around me on pages and canvases whenever I can.

Leave a Reply

