RSS Feed

Word Prompt: Shangri-La

Tucked beneath a ridge overgrown with moss and trees

An unfound world awaits the hapless traveller

Wandering lost in brush, moments from discovery

Marble temples paved by gold glow brighter than the sun

Stalwart fortresses of ancient gems they’ve sworn to keep pure

But for the journeyman, their doors open one by one

To reveal the wondrous truths others abandoned along their way

They altars burn eternal flames, alight the soul within

Endless halls of lavish splendor cloaked with rugs un-frayed

The traveller explores the wealth displayed before his eyes

Dares not touch the jewels, yet warms his hand by the fires

Astounded by the beauty where peace, love, and joy reside

Unmarred by gods who condition them with flaws

Compels the man who kneels and bows his weary head

For quiet kings and queens who reign this Shangri-La

– Written by Miss A

About 365 Things to Write About

I'm inspired by almost anything and everything creative - nature, architecture, art, words, music...I like to roam along streets, through foreign countries, and within my mind where the world is full of endless possibilities. I dream of being an idealist, but I've experienced too many harsh realities for that wish to ever be true. Therefore, I look for the hope and the good in small nuances, and I express my thoughts and feelings about the world around me on pages and canvases whenever I can.

Leave a Reply

