RSS Feed

Word Prompt: Beach

The world is my oyster. That’s what I tell myself every day. I believe it, too. One day, I’m gonna find my fortune and you’ll see my positive mantra has power. That’s what the man on TV says at 3am. I believe him. I looked him up on the internet. He has a big house and a pretty wife with a beauty queen smile. All because he told himself the world is his oyster. Just goes to show you his word is truth.

I got this idea that I’ll come across my good luck at the shore, so every morning I greet the tide and we both wave to the bright red sun as it’s starting to rise. Then I scope the naked beach with my beeping device. The old lady at a garage sale told me it detects gold. I believe it’s going to find me some precious jewels, or better yet, a lone oyster protecting the world’s biggest pearl. Now wouldn’t that be something? I bet that man on TV would have me on his show if I located that pearl with my metal beeper. And I’d let him know his mantra worked.

I got big plans when I find my riches. I’m gonna show up at my mama’s house and tell her she can have anything her heart desires. Maybe then she’ll be proud of me for using my simple sense to do something good. I’m gonna buy us a big house, like that man on TV, and I’ll tell my landlord that he can find a new tenant to rent his dingy room. And then I’m gonna eat in a fancy restaurant that serves triple-layer chocolate cake for dessert.

Some people, when they strike it rich, they quit their jobs. I’m gonna keep mine. It’s pretty easy – collecting trash from people’s bins at the tall sky-rise downtown. And the people are nice. Sometimes they give me a piece of cake when they have a birthday or retire. At Christmas, they give me pretty cards with kind wishes inside. Some of them have money. One man in a big corner office gives me a hundred-dollar bill. He says it’s because I do such a good job and I make people smile. He must be pretty important to carry around hundred-dollar bills.

I guess smiling is important to some people. I just think a smile looks nicer than a frown. I tell that to the sad-looking folks. Most of them nod and say, “you’re right.” I wish my mama was there to see that. Then she’d see her son was kinda smart. When I find my pearl, maybe the man in the corner office will let me bring her in so she can meet the people who I make smile.

And as I walk her around, I’m gonna tell each and every one of them that the world is your oyster, so you better go out there and find your pearl.

 

– Written by Miss A

About 365 Things to Write About

I'm inspired by almost anything and everything creative - nature, architecture, art, words, music...I like to roam along streets, through foreign countries, and within my mind where the world is full of endless possibilities. I dream of being an idealist, but I've experienced too many harsh realities for that wish to ever be true. Therefore, I look for the hope and the good in small nuances, and I express my thoughts and feelings about the world around me on pages and canvases whenever I can.

Leave a Reply

