RSS Feed

Word Prompt: Summer

Summer likes to stay up late basking in the sun that hibernates in winter. Summer runs and plays and swims in pools and lakes. Dips its toe into the ocean and jumps headfirst into tumbling waves. It peels away the frozen skin and browns the pale.

Summer is freedom and careless whims. Adventures through woods and long, traveled roads marked by yarn balls and rest stops. Throngs in tongs snapping photos of sites and stars to post on Facebook when they return home.

Summer is love warmed by heat permeating the air and everything it reaches. Holding hands for the first time while fireworks rain glittery light overhead. Sneaking kisses under a pier or behind a tree.

Summer perks me up where winter brings me down. An energy and excitement pulsating through me…effortlessly infused in my soul with the growing hours of light and warmth. I long for summer all year round. I dream of her tempered storms blowing from the west, raging for an hour, and receding with no shame. Her boundless happiness spread far and wide, unbiased of all whom it reaches.

Summer offers us all a chance to play, to be free, to let go.

About 365 Things to Write About

I'm inspired by almost anything and everything creative - nature, architecture, art, words, music...I like to roam along streets, through foreign countries, and within my mind where the world is full of endless possibilities. I dream of being an idealist, but I've experienced too many harsh realities for that wish to ever be true. Therefore, I look for the hope and the good in small nuances, and I express my thoughts and feelings about the world around me on pages and canvases whenever I can.

Leave a Reply

