RSS Feed

Word Prompt: Smoke

Wisps of ash floating to the open sky

Trails left by another

Charred logs, blackened soot

Discarded in damp cold

Fires raging heat extinguished

Not too long ago she spit and sparked,

Flailed scorching arms and slapped the air

Fighting for her chance to breathe

Eager to spread her reach

Embrace the muse tangled in twigs

Burned white and gold

Too quick to disappear

Floating far above our open hands

Above flames that wither and die

She finds her peace

 

About 365 Things to Write About

I'm inspired by almost anything and everything creative - nature, architecture, art, words, music...I like to roam along streets, through foreign countries, and within my mind where the world is full of endless possibilities. I dream of being an idealist, but I've experienced too many harsh realities for that wish to ever be true. Therefore, I look for the hope and the good in small nuances, and I express my thoughts and feelings about the world around me on pages and canvases whenever I can.

Leave a Reply

