RSS Feed

Word Prompt: Tattoo

The grinding whirr when needle scrapes against flesh

I should be stopped cold, frozen, panicked by second thoughts

Nowhere near the still waters attracting flies

Where the lizard waits on dry banks for its prey to hover in tongue’s view

The lizard that will soon reside upon my foot needs no food

To live forever, it subsides on ink etched into skin

My skin, my foot, forever altered by the colorful creature

I’ve chosen my friend to bring me luck and comfort

Loneliness is not possible when it walks with you to eternity

I need that loyal and persistent friend

A reminder that youth is forever, and I was young once

When playgrounds were my respite, before the knife sliced the cord

Dragging me from whimsical worlds, drugging me with cold truths

Lives we should not see until we’ve come of age

But that time is lost, not an hour I can reclaim

Unlike the hours I latch onto now

To carve out the permanence, a constant I desperately crave

A chance to feel the liberating pains of youth

Illustrated in the generational rites of passage, your self forever changed

In the imprint of a tattoo.

About 365 Things to Write About

I'm inspired by almost anything and everything creative - nature, architecture, art, words, music...I like to roam along streets, through foreign countries, and within my mind where the world is full of endless possibilities. I dream of being an idealist, but I've experienced too many harsh realities for that wish to ever be true. Therefore, I look for the hope and the good in small nuances, and I express my thoughts and feelings about the world around me on pages and canvases whenever I can.

Leave a Reply

