RSS Feed

Word Prompt: Tropical island

I had a dream that my boyfriend wanted to vacation in Tahiti. I’ve already been there, before I was diagnosed with lupus and doctors advised I avoid the sun. In Tahiti, there isn’t much to do that doesn’t involve the sun. The islands of French Polynesia promote sun-bathing, swimming, surfing, snorkeling – all activities that begin with “s,” like the sun.

I didn’t want to vacation in Tahiti. It’s a beautiful place, but I’d been there, done that, and I was itching to see something else. Thailand or Tokyo. Turkey or the Taj Mahal. Somewhere new and different. Not that Tahiti isn’t different from my crazy hectic life in LA, but it wasn’t something I’d never seen before.

I wanted to explore the rest of the world. Take a train through Europe or hike the Great Wall in China. I craved adventure and culture. Seeing civilizations from the past assimilating with societies of the present and future.

Tropical islands give me sand and palm trees, lapping waves, and fruity cocktail drinks. They slow me down for a few days. But can I say they enrich my soul? Only when I reflect upon my fast-paced lifestyle, and that is difficult to change. I’m driven by learning and exposing my mind to new things. I like visual stimulation. That’s why I live in a city.

But I crazy simplicity as well. Islands offer that. Big cities don’t.

In my dream, I couldn’t decide where I wanted to go. I only knew it wasn’t Tahiti. But I might be open to the Galapagos or Belize. Maybe not on the next trip, perhaps in a couple of years.

First world problems – dreaming where to go on vacation. Maybe tonight I should dream about volunteering at an orphanage in Ethiopia.

About 365 Things to Write About

I'm inspired by almost anything and everything creative - nature, architecture, art, words, music...I like to roam along streets, through foreign countries, and within my mind where the world is full of endless possibilities. I dream of being an idealist, but I've experienced too many harsh realities for that wish to ever be true. Therefore, I look for the hope and the good in small nuances, and I express my thoughts and feelings about the world around me on pages and canvases whenever I can.

Leave a Reply

