RSS Feed

Word Prompt: Teddy bear

RACHEL

This is so not fair! First I’m confined with you trolls for what were supposed to be my fairy tale high school years. Now I’m stuck in an old people’s carriage with you all summer. Thank god there’s a light at the end of this dark, three thousand mile tunnel. I’ll be free from this stupid tyranny in three months.

MADDIE

Actually it’s an RV.

RACHEL

Ugh, same difference. They both move on wheels and make it impossible to escape your tragic unibrow.

MADDIE

I don’t have a unibrow!

As Rachel flings a pile of clothes from her closet, a furry, brown limb pokes from the remaining landfill. She shovels another mound from the top and pulls out a one-eyed teddy bear, which has seen better days.

MADDIE

Is that Wammy?

Rachel examines the bear’s pitiful stare. With one hand, she clears out the rest of her closet and finds the missing eye at the bottom of the floor.

MADDIE VO

Shortly after I was born, Rachel started suffering from night terrors. She claimed I brought goblins from the hospital, which threatened to chop off her hair in the middle of the night. To guard her from my evil clan, Dad gave her his bravest childhood friend – Wammy.

MADDIE

Are you taking him with you?

RACHEL

Don’t be stupid! I’m not gonna be the loser who takes her old teddy bear to college.

About 365 Things to Write About

I'm inspired by almost anything and everything creative - nature, architecture, art, words, music...I like to roam along streets, through foreign countries, and within my mind where the world is full of endless possibilities. I dream of being an idealist, but I've experienced too many harsh realities for that wish to ever be true. Therefore, I look for the hope and the good in small nuances, and I express my thoughts and feelings about the world around me on pages and canvases whenever I can.

Leave a Reply

