RSS Feed

Word Prompt: Kingdom

I woke with stiff legs, every muscle moaning from toil and labor, and staggered from the bed. Unable to life my feet more than half an inch off the ground. My tired, aching body went into automatic mode and shuffled them in jerky pushes across the floor.

This was my morning, shrouded in black from the night which was loathe to depart. Just a few minutes more, it yawned and rolled over to snooze. My heavy shoulders shrugged it off as swollen fingers fumbled for a lamp in the den. My eyes were too tired to see through the dark. Yet my feet didn’t cease shuffling, away from the light, toward the long hallway through which my kingdom awaited.

At the far end, there was my window, the portal through which I gazed at my great city and surveyed the populated hills leading to the crystal skyscrapers glowing on the horizon. This was my kingdom to behold.

But alas, my vision was marred, or the window was not clean, for when I looked through the portal on this morning, there was nothing beyond the shrubs at my property line. The rest of the city had been erased with a giant, smudged eraser, it seemed. A murky blanket of fog had cloaked my view. It hung low and cold, like a burnt cloud tinged brown at its heaviest girth. Where was the sun to rise victoriously, sweep its sword across this monster, and banish it away? It, too, had been caged from the madness around us. In one night, swampy clouds devoured my beloved land, and there I stood, physically pained while I tried to cope with my overwhelming loss.

Everything was gone, lost in the dream which carried me away from all that I loved in one brief moment. I lingered alone, severed from all that I knew and loved well, listening to the silence, for it was all that remained when the rest of the world disappeared from my panoramic view.

About 365 Things to Write About

I'm inspired by almost anything and everything creative - nature, architecture, art, words, music...I like to roam along streets, through foreign countries, and within my mind where the world is full of endless possibilities. I dream of being an idealist, but I've experienced too many harsh realities for that wish to ever be true. Therefore, I look for the hope and the good in small nuances, and I express my thoughts and feelings about the world around me on pages and canvases whenever I can.

Leave a Reply

