RSS Feed

Word Prompt: Abundance

Abundance hails from the great state of Thankful, which neighbors Humble and Compassion. All are governed by Gratitude. Its capital is Peace. A lovely place, where even the advocates get along. They did away with lobbyists and politicians a long time ago when many came to their senses and realized nothing fruitful for the greater good is accomplished between warring parties motivated by greed. Greed was banned here, like most addictive drugs. It’s a felony to have greed. There are probably a few citizens still harboring it, like a fugitive, but they hide it really well. Maybe one day, they’ll come around and give it up. Or they’ll end up in jail. The law in these parts of the world isn’t tolerant of greed. I heard about a citizen who was arrested last month. They’re giving him fifteen years in solitude to think about his inner belief system. That’s the minimum sentence. Maybe he’ll get out early on good behavior, but how much can you really act out if you’re left with your own thoughts for fifteen years?

I’d like to live in Peace on day. My family settled in Abundance before I was born. They said it used to be led by super-rich folks who paved their driveways with gold, just because they could. My dad said the wrong kid of people used to live here. They assumed Abundance should be full of money and extravagant toys. There are a few locked in glass cases at the town’s history museum. Chrome-plated cars and platinum toilets with diamond-crusted seats. Who wants to sit on diamonds when they go to the bathroom? Seems a bit weird to me. 

In Peace, they have a gigantic museum that showcases the strife which stemmed from greed, fear, and deceit and almost destroyed our entire nation. My neighbor Fran has been there. She says it’s very sad and she cried at the end for all that was lost before we gained again. I’d like to see it for myself, to understand the hushed tones of old people who shudder when they murmur, “do you remember when?”

There aren’t too many from the last generation living in Abundance. These days, young families stroll the streets. We wave and smile to each other. We’re a happy town. We grow vegetables in our backyards and share with our neighbors. Every year, we clean out our houses and give what we haven’t used to those who can or will. Free swaps they’re called. They happen every May. My parents say those who live in Abundance are always mindful of what they can share with others. It’s most important to share kindness and love. The teachers tell us this, too, in class at school. I suppose it’s easiest for us kids to learn because it’s all we’ve ever known. We weren’t alive for the “Transition.” I always wonder what that time was link. My parents were kids. They don’t remember. Or they say they don’t. 

“It doesn’t do us any good to dwell on that part of the past. Dwelling on those unfortunate times bars us from enjoying the harmony of our present and appreciate the tranquility of our future.”

 

 

About 365 Things to Write About

I'm inspired by almost anything and everything creative - nature, architecture, art, words, music...I like to roam along streets, through foreign countries, and within my mind where the world is full of endless possibilities. I dream of being an idealist, but I've experienced too many harsh realities for that wish to ever be true. Therefore, I look for the hope and the good in small nuances, and I express my thoughts and feelings about the world around me on pages and canvases whenever I can.

Leave a Reply

